Newest Entry
Newest Entry
Older Entries
Older Entries

Read My Profile
Read My Profile
Contact Me
Contact Me

Sign My Guestbook
Sign My Guestbook

View My Webcam
View My Webcam

Other Diaries
Other Diaries
DiaryLand.com
DiaryLand.com
Another Stunning Example Of Customer (Dis)Service

February 20, 2004 - 1:45 am


i just finished relating the story of why i've been offline for the past few days to a friend and i don't want to type it again, so just read my conversation. I stripped out her comments. don't want any wierdos to read this and try to talk to her. i'm sure she wouldn't appreciate that.


der Konig 69 (12:15:28 AM): ok... well it all begins last semester at the start of school
der Konig 69 (12:16:02 AM): i go in and sign up for network access
der Konig 69 (12:16:25 AM): in the apartments i live in, we have this crazy stupid system which is a lot like DSL
der Konig 69 (12:16:47 AM): our internet access is delivered via the phone system, but its high speed
der Konig 69 (12:17:10 AM): so when i sign up, i have to get this little box called an LRE
der Konig 69 (12:17:32 AM): this LRE had a single place to plug in a single computer
der Konig 69 (12:18:59 AM): well, there are two people living in this room, so i just figured, I have the means to share this single connection between the two paying customers, no big deal. I hook up my switch and all is fine and dandy
der Konig 69 (12:19:58 AM): although technically, according to the rules, i'm not supposed to use a switch on their network. no rationale or reason is given, i'm just not supposed to do it. but i've been doing it for years, so no biggie to me
der Konig 69 (12:21:33 AM): ok, so friday evening, my LRE starts acting up and breaking. but since its the weekend, no one is around to fix it
der Konig 69 (12:21:48 AM): which is why i was off and on all weekend
der Konig 69 (12:22:01 AM): on monday, i take it in and to get a new LRE
der Konig 69 (12:22:57 AM): in my discussion with the fellow, i mention that I used a switch in my testing to make sure that the problem was not with my hardware
der Konig 69 (12:23:13 AM): i was very thorough with my testing and was sure the problem was with the LRE
der Konig 69 (12:24:18 AM): he seemed to accept my answer, exchanged my LRE, and all was well. i did notice him make a note that i was using a switch, but didn't really think much of it. I figured if he had a problem he would have voiced his opinion then
der Konig 69 (12:24:50 AM): instead, I go back to my room and monday night my network connection is stable and I'm happy now
der Konig 69 (12:25:48 AM): I've recieved terrible support from these people before, and was quite happy for once with the service they provided. I've had a few run-ins with them before, once even being called into the CIO's office
der Konig 69 (12:26:25 AM): the lady in charge of student network access has a personal vendetta against me for things i've said in the past
der Konig 69 (12:27:04 AM): everything clear so far?
der Konig 69 (12:28:33 AM): ok, so monkey boy who had helped me get a new LRE tells vindictive lady in charge of network access that I'm using a switch, and without bothering to contact me or find out why or how i'm using the switch, she orders my network connection to be turned off
der Konig 69 (12:29:25 AM): then she sends me an email to tell me that my network connection is turned off. keep in mind, that the email server is on the network that i no longer have access to and therefore i can't read this email
der Konig 69 (12:30:06 AM): my school also just has a bad reputation for just randomly losing our internet connection, so i thought nothing of it
der Konig 69 (12:30:34 AM): that is until the next day, when it still wasn't working and i checked with the guy downstairs and his was
der Konig 69 (12:30:53 AM): well since i hadn't been informed of any change in my service, i figured something must be broken
der Konig 69 (12:31:37 AM): so i call over to the network place and speak to a student tech to put in a work order to have someone look at my connection
der Konig 69 (12:32:08 AM): i'm not too super happy at this point and conspiracy theories are starting to form in my head
der Konig 69 (12:32:43 AM): later that afternoon, i need to print something off so i go to a lab to use their printer
der Konig 69 (12:33:32 AM): i just happen to check my email and get this email that dumb network lady has sent to me
der Konig 69 (12:33:45 AM): so i get in my truck and drive over to see her
der Konig 69 (12:34:41 AM): my roommate comes along too because he's an innocent victim in this personal battle
der Konig 69 (12:36:15 AM): we get to her office, sit down, have a nice little chat. I explain that we were given an LRE with one port but two people have paid for access. I think it's only fair that we should both be able to use it. So since i had the necessary equipment and know-how, i hooked up my switch and solved the problem. no harm done to anyone.
der Konig 69 (12:36:28 AM): does that sound reasonable to you?
der Konig 69 (12:36:59 AM): well she would disagree
der Konig 69 (12:37:28 AM): she just kept hitting on the fact that I had a switch and that was against the rules
der Konig 69 (12:38:24 AM): so I was like "what do you want us to do? we both paid, we're both gonna use it." and she's like, "well we have these handy-dandy LREs with a switch built-in."
der Konig 69 (12:38:34 AM): and apparently thats acceptable
der Konig 69 (12:39:09 AM): so for the 2nd time in a week i have to swap LREs and she says she'll get my network connection turned back on
der Konig 69 (12:39:34 AM): and of course they lolly-gagged around on that and it wasn't until this afternoon that they finally did it
der Konig 69 (12:40:02 AM): but really, nothing has changed except now I'm using their switch instead of my own
der Konig 69 (12:40:30 AM): but she did manage to waste 3 days of mine and my roommate's time
der Konig 69 (12:41:11 AM): time which we really could have used as we near deadlines for our software development project
der Konig 69 (12:41:24 AM): deadlines that have a drastic effect on our grade
der Konig 69 (12:42:29 AM): so he and I were both pretty upset by this whole experience


My Candas The Leah